Once you've disabled a project, it won't show up in your dashboard anymore. Also, you won't receive any notification for this project.
To learn on how to undo this action, check the "I have disabled a project, how do I enable it again?" topic.
Be careful of the DELETE button, like expected, it will completely remove the project from gemnasium, including its data and settings.